By using this site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie policy, Privacy policy and Terms .
access_time 2 years ago comment 0 languageEnglish
visibility 339 arrow_upward arrow_downward

In Safe Mode, the HDFS cluster is read-only. After completion of block replication maintenance activity, the name node leaves safe mode automatically.

If you try to delete files in safe mode, the following exception may raise:

org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RemoteException(org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.namenode.SafeModeException): Cannot delete /user/hadoop/sqoop_test/blogs. Name node is in safe mode.

The above exception occurred because I was using Sqoop to load files into HDFS while deleting existing files.

We can also manually leave safe mode by using the following command:

hadoop@hdp-master:/hadoop> hdfs dfsadmin -safemode leave
Safe mode is OFF

info Last modified by Raymond at 2 years ago

Please log in or register to comment. account_circle Log in person_add Register
comment Comments (0)
No comments yet.
account_circle Raymond

Articles about Apache Hadoop

open_in_new View